top of page

Navigating the Depths of Grief: A Journey Through Loss and Healing


Grief is a universal experience that touches every individual at some point in their lives. It is an intricate tapestry of emotions that arises from the loss of someone or something cherished, be it a loved one, a pet, a job, a relationship, or even a sense of normalcy. While grief is an inevitable aspect of the human experience, it is a journey that is often fraught with complexity, vulnerability, and a range of emotions that can be difficult to comprehend and navigate.

Understanding Grief

Grief is not a linear process with set stages that everyone progresses through in the same order. It is more akin to a rollercoaster of emotions that can be experienced in various ways and intensities. It's essential to recognize that there is no "right" way to grieve, and each person's journey is unique. Some common emotions experienced during grief include sadness, anger, guilt, shock, numbness, and even relief.

The Phases of Grief

While there's no universal template for grieving, Elizabeth Kubler-Ross introduced the five stages of grief in her book "On Death and Dying." These stages - denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance - provide a framework for understanding the emotional landscape of grief. However, it's important to note that these stages are not linear or fixed, and individuals might move back and forth between them.

Coping Strategies

  1. Allow Yourself to Feel: Suppressing emotions can hinder the healing process. It's okay to feel sadness, anger, or confusion. Embracing these emotions is an important step towards healing.

  2. Seek Support: You do not have to navigate grief alone. Friends, family, support groups, therapists, or counsellors can provide comfort and understanding during this difficult time.

  3. Self-Care: Taking care of your physical and emotional well-being is crucial. This includes getting adequate sleep, maintaining a healthy diet, and engaging in activities that bring you joy.

  4. Honouring the Loss: Finding ways to commemorate the person or thing you've lost can be therapeutic. This might include creating a memorial, planting a tree, or engaging in activities that held special meaning.

  5. Express Yourself: Art, writing, music, and other creative outlets can provide a channel for expressing complex emotions that words might not capture.

The Length of Grief

Grief doesn't come with an expiration date. It's a unique journey for each individual, and its duration varies greatly. Healing isn't about "getting over" the loss but rather learning to integrate it into your life in a way that allows you to move forward while still holding the memory of what's been lost.

Cultural and Personal Influences

Cultural backgrounds and personal beliefs shape how individuals experience and express grief. Some cultures have specific rituals and traditions that guide the grieving process, while others may encourage more private reflection. Understanding the intersection of your personal beliefs and cultural norms can help you find a path that feels authentic.

Dr Bansal recently took part on a discussion at BBC Radio Asian Network on Dealing with Grief in South Asian Culture, which you may find helpful to listen too.


Grief is a profound and complex experience that cannot be neatly encapsulated in words. It's a journey that requires patience, self-compassion, and a willingness to confront challenging emotions. As you navigate the depths of grief, remember that healing is not about forgetting, but about finding ways to honour the past while embracing the present. Whether you find solace in the support of loved ones, the passage of time, or the act of creative expression, know that you have the strength within you to heal and find meaning once again.



Welcome to our Blog

bottom of page